Seasonal Meltdown – Coping with Cabin Fever

I love snow. I have to preface this with essay with the fact that not only do I like snow, but I’m crazy about it… Like, I dream of snow 11 months out of the year, and the 12th month, I just appreciate the heck out of Colorado – because we GET snow.

But there does come a point of time when snow outside means I’m stuck inside and it reveals the fact that I always manage to get at least one winter cold. YUK! I hate having colds, flu, or any of those “bugs” that come along in the winter (or summer) when I end up feeling STUCK away from people, wishing I could get out again. I’ve always been a believer in staying away from others if I’m sick, because I don’t want to make the whole family sick. And I definitely don’t want to carry a cold around to the whole countryside by going out in public with a cold. So, instead, I choose to stay home when I’m feeling yucky.

This year, Cabin Fever took on new meaning. With a new baby, a pregnant daughter, a two and a half year old, and two teenaged boys… not to mention a son-in-law who thinks we’re all crazy, the house got a wee bit cramped at times during the cold season. Of course, it might not have been so bad had we not all come down with the same yucky cold.

But, I coped with the crisis by ordering pizza, buying lots of soup, and making a big pot of chicken noodle soup. Everyone loves the concept, but nobody ate much of it. We’re all too busy feeling yucky and sick, but it smells good.

The other way I coped is by reading and getting a lot of writing done. YAY!!! That’s what happens when we cope with cabin fever — I get a lot of work done.

Leave a Reply

