Golden Hour Crazies – Been There

I remember being in my early 20’s and feeling overwhelmed that life didn’t go the way I wanted it to go. Heck, I’m THERE now. Nothing happens the way I plan it to happen.

The worst part is, I picture it in my mind, walk to the mirror and there’s a different person staring back at me. But, then I accomplish something great and it’s different than I imagined too.

For instance, yesterday… I had a fast and prayer thing going for my friend who has cancer. Wonderful man, worthy of divine healing and an incredible representative of Christ in the community. I pictured myself drinking juice, tea and water throughout the day, having a piece of fruit and going to bed.

My daughter went out last night. Through explainable events that had something to do with keys locked in a vehicle she arrived home later than expected and I spent the evening carrying a baby around, bouncing him, and ravenous. I ate crackers, chips, fruit and ice cream before the night was out. No way to start the fast.

In the tedium of life, life gets crazy in the golden hours.

I have two daughters.

The oldest claims OCD and thrives on it. Drives me bonkers, but she thrives. Unless she’s late. In a split second, she can go from thriving and loving life to a fierce raving maniac searching for keys, bag, shoes and the exit. Two minutes later the maniac is gone, she calls to let us know she found her phone (in her bag), and all is well. She’s sorry she left in a huff.

The youngest lives in the moment. A neat nick with organizational skills I never mustered, she’s organized my life around an erratic schedule. Her own organizational skills keep her moving smoothly through life in an organized fashion, rolling with the punches and coming out with an attitude of “I done it.” Unless of course you cross her or get in the way of her organizing mind. Quiet fury. Maybe an apology, but she rarely says things she doesn’t mean, and usually not in a huff. What she says has usually been thought out.

Then I have two boys.

To say they are polar opposites of their sisters would indicate they have no tempers. Well, that would be a lie.

The oldest struggles to maintain some level of sanity, now that he’s beyond the anger management of those young teen years. He’s gotten better at it, sort of. He still manages to respond in those cold, bone chilling tones, “Yes, Mom.” when asked to do something he’d rather not do. But his self managed time schedule ranges from off the clock to mixed up, so he usually manages to adjust around our schedules when necessary. Just don’t wake him up too early in the day. He prefers to sleep late and stay up later.

The youngest has a schedule and he sticks to it. No matter who is here, what is happening, or how weird his life gets, when it’s time for bed, it’s lights out and he’s sleeping. And about that temper thing – he rarely explodes, usually just takes a walk. His view of life is skewed by the past, but he’s grabbing the concept and I’m certain he’ll adjust before he grows up and be a normal radical dude too.

About those Golden Hour Crazies… Everyone gets them, and everyone has their moment. Some more valid than others. I’ve certainly had my share of Golden Hour Crazies.

So, tell us about yours. Leave a message and share how you deal with the Golden Hour Crazies at your house.

Leave a Reply

